Home   About Us   The EYFS


Purpose and aims of the EYFS

Every child deserves the best possible start in life and support to fulfill their full potential. A safe, secure and happy childhood is important, and provides the foundation for children to make the most of their talents and abilities as they grow up.

We follow the National Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS). This legal document relates to all elements of young children’s learning, development and welfare outlining our obligations as a provider. The overarching aim of the EYFS is to help young children to achieve the five ‘Every Child Matters’ outcomes of feel safe, adopt healthy lifestyles, achieve and enjoy, make a positive contribution and develop skills for the future.

We use the document as essential advice and guidance to evaluate the practice and quality in our settings to ensure every child between birth and five make age appropriate progress. We work with you to carefully document the progress of your child through their home and nursery experiences. The EYFS will also be used in your child’s reception year and this personalised learning journey then forms part of the smooth transition to school.

Overarching principles

The EYFS principles guide the work of all practitioners and are grouped into four distinct but complementary themes;

The early learning goals and educational programme

The EYFS promotes effective practice through each of the seven areas of learning to support children through various stages of maturity and development. These are reflected in your child’s learning journey and personalised planning, they include;

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts & design

Each of the seven areas of learning are seen by our practitioners as being equally important with each area being connected to each other and underpinned by all of the principles in the EYFS.